Sports Personality of the Year 2019: Odds, past winners, hosts, how to watch SPOTY on TV

Sports Personality of the Year 2019: Odds, past winners, hosts, how to watch SPOTY on TV

bbcspotyold - Sports Personality of the Year 2019: Odds, past winners, hosts, how to watch SPOTY on TV

For the second successive year, the Sports Personality of the Year award has had a shake-up in terms of picking the winner.

Last year, all 12 nominees were announced on the night of the ceremony with Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas picking up the prize.

Thomas came top of the public vote with Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton coming second and Harry Kane in third after England reached the World Cup semi-final in Russia.

But this year, the organisers have decided to make the decision somewhat easier with only six sportsmen and women nominated for the prize.

Here is everything you need to know about the award…

Geraint Thomas poses his his SPOTY prize last year Photo: PA

Date and venue

The 66th Sports Personality of the Year gala will take place in at the new 10,000-capacity P&J Live arena in Aberdeen on Sunday, December 15.

The ceremony will once again be hosted by the trio of presenters Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan.

How to watch

The awards ceremony will be shown in full live on BBC One on the big night.

You can also keep up-to-date with Standard Sport’s dedicated live blog announcing the winners throughout the night.

Who are the contenders?

Ben Stokes and England footballer Raheem Sterling are among the final six nominees for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019 award.

Manchester City and England star Raheem Sterling has been nominated for the award  Photo: Reuters

The pair join Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton, who won his sixth world title in Austin last month.

Athletics World Championship gold medallists Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson are also in contention, with Wales rugby union captain Alun Wyn Jones on the shortlist.

Odds (via Betfair)

Outright SPOTY winner

Ben Stokes 1/8

Dina Asher Smith 14/1

Lewis Hamilton 16/1

Alun Wyn Jones 20/1

Raheem Sterling 25/1

Katarina Johnson Thompson 66/1

Past winners

Year Winner


Joe Calzaghe
2008 Chris Hoy
2009 Ryan Giggs
2010 Tony McCoy
2011 Mark Cavendish
2012 Bradley Wiggins
2013 Andy Murray
2014 Lewis Hamilton
2015 Andy Murray
2016 Andy Murray
2017 Mo Farah
2018 Geraint Thomas

How is the SPOTY decided?

The nominees are the 12 leading sportspeople selected by a panel based on the following criteria: 

  • Reflects UK sporting achievements on the national and/or international stage;
  • Represents the breadth and depth of UK sports, and;
  • Takes into account ‘impact’ over and beyond the sport or sporting achievement in question.

The shortlist is then put to a public vote on the night of the awards and the athlete with the biggest public backing is crowned Sports Personality of the Year. 

The recipient must either be British or reside and play a significant amount of their sport in the United Kingdom

What other awards are up for grabs?

The World Sport Star of the Year award, formerly known as the BBC Overseas Sports Personality award, is included this year marking the introduction of the Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year award.

The Lifetime Achievement, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, the Helen Rollason award and the BBC Get Inspired Unsung Hero awards are also up for grabs.

Source link